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North Dakotans Reminded to Call Before You Dig
Governor Dalrymple Proclaims Safe Digging Month in North Dakota

BISMARCK, ND — Governor Jack Dalrymple has proclaimed April as Safe Digging Month in
North Dakota. In recognition, the North Dakota Public Service Commission (PSC) is reminding
everyone of the potential dangers and consequences of digging without first calling 8-1-1, North
Dakota’s Call-Before-You-Dig number.

“The Governor’s Proclamation and recognition of Safe Digging Month is a great time educate
about the importance of safe digging,” said Commissioner Brian Kalk “But we have to remember that
every month needs to be safe digging month. It’s simple: Call before you dig, dig safely, and remove
your flags when you’re done.”

North Dakota law requires anyone conducting an excavation to notify 8-1-1 at least two days in
advance of digging. Personnel will be sent to mark the locations of the underground facilities at no cost
to the caller, typically within a couple of days. The markings are valid for 21 days after they are placed.
This process is coordinated through North Dakota One Call. The Public Service Commission’s role is
to enforce the requirements of the state’s damage prevention laws and take action when violations are
reported to the Commission. The PSC can levy a fine up to $25,000 per violation depending on
severity.

"The dangers of failing to locate underground infrastructure are serious, significant and costly
to equipment operators, to utilities and to citizens who might lose their services," said Commissioner
Julie Fedorchak. "The PSC is also serious about enforcing this important law and using the penalties
available to improve compliance."

Each year North Dakota’s underground utility infrastructure is jeopardized by unintentional
damage from those who fail to call 8-1-1 to have underground facilities located prior to digging. Since
2009, the PSC has taken action in more than 70 cases related to violations of the Call-Before-You-Dig
law. In total, approximately $110,000 in fines have been assessed against companies or individuals who
have violated the law. The consequences of striking an underground utility can be severe including
explosions resulting in injury or death, service interruptions or damage to the environment.

"The 811 system not only protects the person who is digging, it also protects thousands of
other people who rely on the services of our underground infrastructure," said Commissioner Randy
Christmann.



The significant residential and business growth occurring throughout North Dakota and the
increased demand for pipeline infrastructure to support the energy industry have dramatically increased
demand for the One-Call Program. Online requests and calls from 8-1-1 to utilities requesting locates
continue to increase each year.

Safe Digging Month is endorsed each April by the North Dakota Public Service Commission,
the Common Ground Alliance and the North Dakota One-Call Board. For more information about
8-1-1, visit the North Dakota One-Call Board’s website at www.ndonecall.com. For safety tips, best
practices and other information, visit the Common Ground Alliance website at

www.commongroundalliance.com.

The North Dakota Public Service Commission is a constitutionally created state agency with
authority to permit, site and regulate certain business activities in the state including electric and gas
utilities, telecommunications companies, power plants, electric transmission lines, pipelines, railroads,
grain elevators, auctioneers, commercial weighing devices, pipeline safety and coal mine reclamation.
For more information, contact the Public Service Commission at (701) 328-2400 or www.psc.nd.gov.

Note to Media: A copy of the proclamation is included on the next page.
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PROCLAMATION
SAFE DIGGING MONTH
APRIL 2016

WHEREAS, each year, the nation’s underground utility infrastructure is jeopardized by
unintentional damage by those who fail to call 8-1-1 to have underground facilities located prior to
digging, resulting in possible service interruptions, damage to the environment, personal injury and
even death; and

WHEREAS, in an effort to reduce these damages, the North Dakota Public Service Commission,
the Common Ground Alliance and the North Dakota One Call Board promote the natonal Call-
Before-You-Dig number, 8-1-1, as well as the use of safe digging practices; and

WHEREAS, designated by the Federal Communications Commission in 2003, 8-1-1 provides
potential excavators and homeowners with a simple number to reach their local One Call Center to
request utility locations at the intended dig site; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota law requires that anyone planning excavation or demoliion must
notify North Dakota 8-1-1, and if a facility must be located, personnel will be sent to mark the
location of underground facilities at no cost to the requesting party; and

WHEREAS, by following safe digging practices, excavators and homeowners can save time and
money by making a simple call to 8-1-1 in advance of any digging project, waiting the required
amount of time for the utility to be located, respecting the location marks by maintaining visual
definition throughout the excavation, and digging with care around the marks; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota excavators and homeowners are encouraged to know what is below,
and to call 8-1-1 before digging to ensure the safety and connectivity of our communitics.

NOW, THEREFORE, s Governor of the State of North Dakota, I do hereby proclaim April
2016, SAFE DIGGING MONTH in the state of North Dakota.
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