nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
North Dakota State Public Service CommissionNorth Dakota PSC Home Page

North Dakota State Public Service Commission

Quick Links


600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 408
Bismarck, ND 58505-0480

701.328.2400 - Phone
877.245.6685 - Toll-Free
800.366.6888 - TTY
701.328.2410 - Fax

Know What's Below, Call before you dig.

The Commission: Meet the Commissioners

Commissioner Brian Kroshus (Current Chairman)

Commissioner Brian Kroshus Brian was appointed to the Public Service Commission in March 2017 by Governor Doug Burgum and was elected by the voters in 2018. Brian has a background in business, agriculture and energy.

Brian's portfolio at the Public Service Commission includes business operations; electric and gas economic regulation; pipeline safety and damage prevention; and weights and measures.

Born in Fargo and graduate of North Dakota State University, Brian deeply values his North Dakota heritage. His agricultural upbringing, from time in 4-H and FFA to present day as an owner of a cattle and grain operation in western North Dakota, allow him to fully appreciate and effectively address landowner concerns. He recognizes the importance of creating a balance between responsible infrastructure development, economic growth and environmental stewardship in order to provide safe, reliable and affordable energy to North Dakota citizens and businesses.

Prior to his appointment to the Public Service Commission, Brian spent 30 years in business leadership and management including 20 years (1997-2017) with Lee Enterprises, Bismarck. During his time with Lee Enterprises, he spent 17 years as publisher of Farm and Ranch Guide, 13 years as group publisher of Lee Agri-Media and 10 years as publisher of The Bismarck Tribune. He continues to be involved with his farming and ranching operation in western North Dakota.

Brian has served as a board member and trustee for numerous organizations including United Way, Bismarck-Mandan Chamber, Bismarck-Mandan Development Association, Sanford Health Foundation, Lewis and Clark Fort Mandan Foundation and Bismarck State College Foundation. Brian served as president of the Bismarck State College Foundation in 2012-2013 and co-chaired the United Way Missouri Slope Area Wide Annual Gift Giving Campaign in 2009.

Hi-resolution photo (1.65Mb jpg 300dpi)

Legal Links

Accessibility Links